Luscious Libations: Leah’s Birthday

My friend Leah is the coolest. She always has the best recipes, hosts great parties, makes shelves out of ladders (pre-Pinterest) and is just ALWAYS keeping it real. Also, I have never seen a polish smudge in her nails. She really knows whats up when it comes to staying cool while taking care of domestic business. (It’s a compliment, Leah!!!) I’ve learned so much from her over the years and pretty much copy her when I can! Her birthday was yesterday and every year, it is a reminder that Summer is ON THE WAY.

 

IMG_8339

I received really nice popsicle molds as a wedding present and had been dying to use them! Since Leah is a popsicle enthusiast, I had the great idea of making booze popsicles for her birthday! Personally, I am a huge fan of adding booze to recipes. (Obviously, I love a jello shot and a cupcake with some Bailey’s.) She had recently gifted me a bottle of Hendricks Gin and couldn’t believe that I hadn’t opened it yet. (I’m a retired party girl, what can I say?) A couple years ago, I was bartending at a Latin Caribbean restaurant and my friend Sergio, who hails from Oaxaca told me about a drink that people would make back home. Gin + Mint + Coconut Water. I am a coconut water JUNKIE and pimp that shit out so hard. I strongly believe in all of its benefits. It has a slight sweetness that makes it great to add to cocktails and it’s extra hydrating as well. When Leah told me that she had never had coconut water before, I was shocked. So naturally, I had to sneak it in the recipe. The recipe also includes grapefruit mint from my front yard, lemon juice, and honey. It’s a Bee’s Knees with a fun twist. They’re très magnifique.

IMG_9209

Leah’s Birthday Popsicles

Juice of 2 lemons

1/3 cup mint

3 oz Hendrick’s Gin (because who drinks rail liquor anymore)

2 1/2 tablespoons honey (local, of course!)

2 cups nectar of the gods coconut water (no coconut bits, FYI)

Combine all ingredients in a blender and BLE ND THAT SHIT. Pour into popsicle molds. I was only planning to make six but made ten 3oz popsicles. Freeze. ENJOY.

(If only the mint didn’t settle on the bottom. Anybody have tips for that??)

IMG_9212

 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LEAH!!

One thought on “Luscious Libations: Leah’s Birthday

Leave a Reply

