New Moon Judy

Happy May 1st!!! I cannot believe we are already five months into this year. The first of May is always significant for me. You see, my  birthday is on April 29th and I always set goals for myself for *my* new year. Since, April 30th is typically a recovery day, my fresh start always begins on May 1st. So far, 2014 has turned out to be fantastic. I got married on 2-8 and think that’s pretty cool, since I just turned 28. In addition, there was a Solar Eclipse / New Moon in Taurus that fell on my birthday. You know I love my numbers and my new age !! I have been looking forward to this cosmic shift and have been excited for some new things to pop off.

I already started my day with a Hot Vinyasa class. My girlfriends and I are doing a yoga challenge which consists of practicing 21 hot yoga classes in 31 days. They say it takes 21 days to form a new habit. I picked up hot yoga when I began my fitness journey last year to prepare for my wedding. I’m not ashamed to say that I was a bride with a serious mission to look damn good in my wedding gown. I set fitness goals for myself and achieved them.  The wedding is over and done with but I am dedicated to staying fit and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. So what if my vanity pushed me to becoming a healthier person, mentally and physically. /endminirant  Also, a yoga challenge is going to be the perfect way to head into the Summer!

New Moon Yoga goal: to do a headstand

My BFF and skin care guru, Lauren came from the Pacific Northwest to visit last week. I’m so thankful that she has the knowledge to tell me how to protect my skin from aging! Everyone needs a skincare personal shopper, PS. I knew that I was a geezer when I got so excited about all of the anti-aging products that she gifted me !

IMG_9173

1. BENEFIT Peek-a-bright eyes Illuminating Kit 

(Not quite anti-aging, but this kit can help me look bright eyed & bushy tailed.)

2. BOSCIA Pore Purifying Black Strips

( Is there anything more satisfying than rippin’ out blackheads?)

3. OLE HENRIKSEN Truth Serum Vitamin C Collagen Booster

(Vitamin C helps to brighten and minimize fine lines.)

4. ALGENIST Triple-Action Micropolish & Peel

(This microderm abrasion peel improves skin texture and tone, keeping the skin smooth)

5. GLOW BY DR. BRANDT Revitalizing Retinol Eye Cream

(They had me  at “diffuses light to soften the look of lines & wrinkles.” Super nourishing!)

6. BENEFIT The POREfessional

(A priming balm that minimizes the appearance of pores AND fine lines. Makes my face feel silky under makeup)

7. OLE HENRIKSEN Ultimate Life Firming Serum

(Tightens the skin as well as locks in hydration)

New Moon Skincare goal: Minimize forehead wrinkles

 

My parents were so kind to gift me a Bath & Body Works basket full of goodies from their Hawaii line. There were years when I got a boujie lotion/body spray set for every freakin’ occasion. I haven’t gotten one in awhile and I was excited to re-up on lotion/body spray/hand sanitizer. Sometimes it’s necessary to smell like a coconut sunset.

New Moon Bodycare goal: Moisturize more!!

IMG_9175

Enjoy the rest of your month!! Lots of fun posts coming up. Don’t forget your SPF and your sunnies in this beautiful weather!!

 

Leave a Reply

