The morning after….

After a night of karaoke and bourbon, taking off my makeup is the LAST thing that I want to do. This part of my routine is nowhere near as fun as putting the makeup on. I have been guilty of sleeping in my party face more times than I’d like to admit. I normally try to keep face cleansing wipes on hand for situations like this. Although, it always fun to give my face special love after party nights like these!

Image

First of all, if I haven’t raved about SensEyes by Make Up For Ever, then here it is! The best eye makeup remover that I have ever used. A little product goes a long way, which is great for taking off day old waterproof liner/mascara/etc. No oily residue, which was always my #1 issue with waterproof makeup remover.

I am truly obsessed with Soy Face Cleanser by Fresh! This gel cleanser is great for all skin types and my face always feels super squeaky clean after I use it. Soy proteins in the face wash help maintain elasticity as well as keep my complexion looking healthy!

Doing a Deep Cleansing Herbal Clay Masque by Aveda is my way of apologizing to my face after a night of being trapped in foundation & powder & blush, etc. This clay masque brings impurities to the skin surface while absorbing excess oils. I normally leave this masque on as long as I can, then drape a hot towel over my face to really open those pores. It is immediately effective. Sometimes I will use this masque as a spot treatment for mondo zits, it always helps.

After doing a masque, I have to make sure to moisturize! This is when I break out my Argan Oil by Josie Maran. Typically, I reserve this product for use in my hair, but this is liquid gold is special treat for my face, for morning afters only. Argan Oil is chock full of Vitamin E and essential fatty acids that have healing & repairing properties for every inch of your body. Such an amazing organic, natural product. (You could also use dash of coconut oil, about a dime size, if you don’t want to splurge)

My eyes are definitely the feature that I pay special attention to the most. The combination of naturally dark circles under my eyes and a sleepless night is not pretty. I rely on Photo Finish Hydrating Under Eye Primer by Smashbox to bring me back to life. This primer is super hydrating and does a fantastic job reducing puffiness and improving skin tone. This product has caffeine & peptides & basically, all the things to halt the aging process! I can’t get enough.

Lastly, DRINK WATER!! ( I don’t like the taste of water, so I will add something for flavor, whether it is 1 tbsp of Apple Cider Vin or Chia Seeds or a packet of Emergen-C.) Boozin’ is SO bad for your skin. Not only are cocktails dehydrating, but we deplete some vital skin nutrients with every sip. Drinking water is essentially an internal moisturizer for your skin.

The morning after always sucks, but the key is to not look like it does!

2 thoughts on “The morning after….

  1. Hi, great post! Need to try some of these products as the morning after is just..urgh.. I just did a review about Vichy Micellar Water which is great for whipping off makeup quickly after a night out! If you have time please check out my blog as I’ve just started out 🙂

Leave a Reply

